Home > Board of Directors

Board Members

Sir Crispin Tickell

Ablington, United Kingdom
Director, Director of the Policy Foresight Programme of the James Martin Institute for Science and Civilization at the University of Oxford
Former United Kingdom Permanent Representative to the United Nations
Former British Ambassador to Mexico and Permanent Secretary of the Overseas Development Administration


John C. Topping, Jr.

Bethesda, Marland
President and Chief Executive Officer, Climate Institute
Former Staff Director, Office of Air and Radiation, US EPA


Luis Roberto Acosta

Mexico City, Mexico
President, Climate Institute Mexico and Latin America
Winner, Miguel Aleman Prize, 2000


Charles Bayless

Gilford, NH
Chair, Arctic Climate Action Registry
Former President, West Virginia University Institute of Technology


Dr. Noel Brown

New York, NY
President, Friends of the United Nations
Former Regional Director for North America, United Nations Environment Programme


Joseph A. Cannon

Provo, Utah
Founding CEO, Fuels Freedom Foundation


Thomas R. Casten

Westmont, Illinois
Chairman, Recycled Energy Development
Founder, Trigen Energy Corporation
Founder, Primary Energy Ventures LLC


Dr. Robert Corell

Key Biscayne, Florida
Chair, Climate Action Initiative
Principal, Global Environment and Technology Foundation                                                                                                   Former Chair, Arctic Climate Impact Assessment 


Dr. Devra Davis

Jackson Hole, Wyoming                                                                                                                                                           President, Environmental Health Trust
Former Director, Center for Environmental Oncology, University of Pittsburgh Medical Center
Author, When Smoke Ran Like Water
Author, The Secret History of the War on Cancer


Carlos Diaz Leal

Mexico City, Mexico
International Liaison, Climate Institute Mexico and Latin America
President, Yu –Bal -Cah Educational Park


Michele Fetting

Pittsburg Pennsylvania
Health and Environmental Consultant


Dr. Thomas Gale

Centreville, Maryland
Trustee, Thomas H. and Barbara W. Gale Foundation
Proprietor, Eversley Farm in Centreville, Maryland


Barbara Hernández

Mexico City, Mexico
President, Fundación Pedro y Elena Hernández
Board Member, RARE


Philip L. Johnson

Washington D.C.
President and CEO
Green Terra Energy Corporation


Bert Kerstetter

Princeton, New Jersey
Chairman, Everfast, Inc.


Nasir Khattak

Falls Church, Virginia
Chief Operating Officer, Climate Institute
Coordinator, Vision 20/30 http://gseii.org/


Marilyn Lord

Meriden, New Hampshire
Educator, Kimball Union Academy
Founder EdPlay.org


Dr. Michael MacCracken

Bethesda, Maryland
Chief Scientist for Climate Change Programs, Climate Institute
President, International Association on Meteorology and Atmospheric Sciences (2003-2007)
Senior Editor, Sudden and Disruptive Climate Change: Exploring the Real Risks and How We Can Avoid Them (2007)


John Noel III

Nashville, Tennessee
President, John Noel Investment Company
President, Southern Alliance for Clean Energy


Hon. Tom Roper

New York, New York
Director, Global Sustainable Energy Islands Initiative
Retired Member of Parliament from the State of Victoria, Australia
Former Australian Minister for Planning and Environment
Former State Treasurer, State of Victoria, Australia


Margie Simon de Ortiz

Mexico City, Mexico
Director General, CICEANA


Oriana Tickell de Castello

Mexico City, Mexico
Founding Partner, CORPX Coach SC


Dr. Daniel Wildcat

Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Director, Environmental Research Studies Center, Haskell Indian Nations University Convenor, Indigenous Peoples Climate Change Working Group                                                                                                                       Former Climate Institute Chairman of the Board of Directors


Paul C. Pritchard

Founding Chairman
Harper’s Ferry, West Virginia
President of the National Park Trust
Former President, National Parks and Conservation Association                                                                                           Former Climate Institute Chairman of the Board of Directors


Dr. Stephen Leatherman

Chairman, 1988 – 190
Miami Florida
Professor, Florida International University


William A. Nitze

Chairman, Nov 2002 – Feb 2009
Washington, DC
Chairman,  Oceana Energy Company
Deputy Assistant Secretary of State 1987-1989
US EPA Assistant Administrator for International Activities 1994-2001



Honorary Board Members*

John P. Bond

Fairfax, Virginia
Formerly Executive Director, Global Legislators for a Balanced Environment (GLOBE)


Dr. H. Nuzhet Dalfes

Istanbul, Turkey
Professor of Climate and Marine Sciences and Dean, Informatics Institute,
Istanbul Technical University


Lynne Todd Edgerton

Nashville, Tennessee
Former Member, California Air Resources Board
Author, The Rising Tide


Christopher Flavin

Washington, DC
President, Emeritus, Worldwatch Institute


Mark A. Goldberg

Washington, DC
Senior Fellow and Former Chairman


Luis Manuel Guerra

Mexico City, Mexico
Environmental Leader and Journalist


Dr. Lee W. Huebner

Washington, DC
Director, School of Media and Public Affairs, George Washington University
Former President, American University of Paris
Former Publisher, International Herald Tribune and Oil Daily


Dr. Michael McElroy

Cambridge, Massachusetts
Gilbert Butler Professor of Environmental Studies, Harvard University
Chair, Interfaculty Initiative on the Environment, Harvard University
Founding Chair, Department of Planetary and Earth Science, Harvard University
Chairman of the Board, International Research Institute for Climate Prediction, a Columbia University and NOAA joint undertaking


Dr. Shuzo Nishioka

Tsukuba, Japan
Former Director, Center for Global Environmental Research,
Japan Environment Agency


Daniel Power

Pace, Florida
President and CEO,  Oceana Energy Company


Dr. Hind Sadek

Washington, DC
President, Environment and Our Common Past (Ecopast)
Former Director, Museum of Natural History of Iran


Claudine Schneider

Boulder, Colorado
Former five-term member of the U.S. House of Representatives


Dr. Pier Vellinga

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Chairman, Netherlands Society for Nature and Environment
Professor in Environmental Science, Free University of Amsterdam 


James Lee Witt 

Washington, DC
President, James Lee Witt Associates
Director, Federal Emergency Management Agency, (FEMA) 1993-2001


*non-voting, but contribute to planning of Climate Institute activities


Historical Listing of Climate Institute Board Chairs

Paul Pritchard
Dr. Stephen Leatherman
Sir Crispin Tickell
1990- 2002
William Nitze
2002- 2009
Mark Goldberg
2009- 2012
Sir Crispin Tickell
2012- Present